Where I’ve Been

I finally logged back in to this blog, and noticed it’s been a good hot minute since I’ve been here! My apologies, and I hope I still have some readers when this is said and done. A lot has happened since sushi night in February. It was an attempt to get back to what I consider ‘my reality’, but apparently, it was also a failure. My reality came home in early August, and now things are right in my world.

**(Break here to send some good vibes out to our troops still overseas)**

So now that we’re finally settling back down in to our routine, and I’m back to cooking more often than not, I’m hoping to churn out some fun surprises to share. I even just picked up a middle eastern cuisine cookbook that looks like a great adventure. But then again, I’m also now taking graphic design classes online, and I’m also preparing to move. You know, it’s a good thing that cooking and art can follow this girl anywhere, because I’d be pretty hard pressed to keep myself busy otherwise. But passion is passion, and I do it because I love it. I’ve also taken up a little photography on the side, because it’s something that I love and I consider it an art form…even if I’m not too good at it. A friend of mine did give me the opportunity to photograph her second wedding, though, and that was fantastic. It made me so happy to be a part of her big day.

Now, on to the food! That’s why you’re here, right?

tomato-goat-cheese-tart

Yesterday, after a dinner of corndogs, I got a wild hair to make something that I had been thinking about and talking about for a solid two weeks. A mascarpone/goat cheese and tomato tart. It was something that I saw on Pinterest, and it looked oh so scrumptious. The idea was to get my tomatoes and cheese from the farmer’s market in Nashville, and then it would be local too. Well. Procrastination got the best of me. So I had to get some new tomatoes. But the goat cheese from the Amish stand at the market was still good to go!

Quad-Berry-Tart

While picking up some bits and pieces from the store, like mascarpone, I got to thinking and I saw some delicious looking berries on sale. Hmm, mascarpone and berries, in a crust, with mint? Yes please! Inspiration, my friends, strikes at the oddest of times. So then, I turned out this pretty tart of berries. And let me just say… a slice of each for lunch and dessert is beyond delectable and it gave me a very happy tummy.

Now, I must tell you – I got the recipe for the crust from Pinterest, and it was a “guaranteed no fail crust” recipe that I was slightly skeptical about. Well, I’m not a baker (as some of you know), and I didn’t screw it up. I’m a believer now! Here’s the recipe from a blog called Dana Made It. And then, I slightly modified the recipe for the Tomato and Cheese Tart, because I used a mixture of the goat cheese and mascarpone with my own crust recipe. This one came from The Endless Meal. When eating this one on day two or whenever, make sure it’s a little warm. It has the consistency of a really good lasagna and small piece is plenty for a light lunch.

To make the fruit tart, I used the same crust recipe, which I cut in half by the way because I only needed two crusts, not four, and then I sliced up my berries. Well, let’s get real, my friend Kelly cleaned and sliced up my berries because she wanted to help. The mascarpone (about 3/4 of a small container) was mixed with 2 tbsp of vanilla greek yogurt, a dash or two of cinnamon, half a lemon’s juice and very finely diced fresh mint. I blind baked the crust until it was done, filled it with the cream and topped it with the berries. This is a very fresh dessert, and tastes great straight out of the fridge. I had also found a recipe for a limoncello cream tart that I think that cream would taste really good with this topping.

So now that I’ve spilled my world to you, I hope you come back! I promise to be better about my posting. Even if it’s not specifically food related!

2 thoughts on “Where I’ve Been

  1. sounds good, glad to see you back

  2. Glad to see you Posting Jenn, glad your sweetie has returned from the Front, wherever he was. Hope you both are feeling “completed” now ! We are traveling presently, are in Dayton with eldest daughter’s family fora few days, then we have a week at the U P “Lakeshore”(Great Lakes)before seeing the middle daughter in Chicago.Then heading home to settle back into our skins again! I havent cooked in a month already, but I’m looking forward to trying something new. Keep em coming though, never know when we might hit on something fanstastic for my tastebuds! Thats what poassionate cooking is all about excite the tastebuds and olfactory nerves. Look what it did for the Romans….Lol

Leave a Reply

