Yummy Spinach “Burgers”

Let me just start by saying, I have a stupid amount of veggies in my fridge. So tonight I found Imagesomething to do with them! I found this recipe on Pinterest for these spinach burgers that sounded really super easy, and they were. The original recipe came from a blog called “The Domestic Mama and the Village Cook.” These are put together the same way you would put together a from-scratch meat burger. And the taste is so versatile that it can be paired with just about anything. I actually had two, one with feta and pita bread, and one with regular bread and pickles. Both were fantastic. I think next time I might put some whole-grain mustard on the bread, the tangy vinegar taste would really add to the flavor here.

And speaking of pita, I found some at my local Kroger that is awesome, it was one sale 2 for $3. It’s already cut in half, so you can just pull it out and stuff it. I’ve had three pieces already in two days! It tastes spectacular with hummus too.

So, the recipe… you’ll need:

1 box of chopped, frozen spinach that has been defrosted and drained well

1/4 cup diced onion

1/4 cup breadcrumbs

1/4 cup cheese

1 tsp red pepper flakes

Salt and pepper to taste

2 egg whites and 1 whole egg

Directions:

1. Mix everything together in a bowl. A spoonula works well.

2. Heat a pan over medium heat and coat with some cooking spray. Add in the spinach patties that you create from your mixture. Let them cook for about 3-4 minutes and flip. Let them cook another 3-4 minutes. They will be lightly browned and a little crispy on each side.

3. Serve warm with your choice of bread and toppings.

See, easy. I think next time I would consider mushrooms, maybe some fresh red onion on top, and like I said, some mustard.

Leave a Reply

