Butternut Squash Soup

image

Late last week I bought a butternut squash. It’s getting cold here in the south, and soup sounds really good pretty much all the time. Especially with some crusty bread. I haven’t had a whole lot of time to do any major cooking recently so I had to wait until the weekend to really get my cook on. And my hunny isn’t around this week so I knew I could make soup and not wonder if he was going to be full or not.

This soup was really good. I haven’t ever had butternut squash – I wasn’t even sure what it tasted like. Come to find out, it tastes like pumpkin. Which means rich spices that I would normally consider only for baking like cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg taste delicious in this soup.

image

To make this soup, first chop up a small onion, a medium carrot, a stalk or two of celery, and your squash. To back it up a little bit, poke holes in the squash with a knife, and microwave for about 5 minutes on a paper towel. Then you shouldn’t have any trouble cutting it up. Oh and make sure you peel it first… This will soften the squash and make it easier to chop as well as getting a head start on the cooking process.

Melt two tablespoons of butter in a large pan, and the add all of these ingredients. Brown them up for about 3 minutes. You will know they are good to go when it smells delicious. The onions should be softening and fragrant. Then cover the veggies with chicken stock. Bring the stock up to a boil and then turn the heat down and simmer for 40 minutes. Your vegetables will be soft at the end of the 40 minutes.

Either use an immersion blender (one of my favorite kitchen gadgets) or transfer your mixture to a food processor to blend until smooth. Add some more chicken stock if the soup is too thick for you. When all is said and done you should have used most if not all of a 32 oz container of chicken stock. Once blended, season with salt, pepper, allspice and cinnamon. I served mine with sourdough bread and I probably would have dipped a whole loaf of it in this soup given the opportuity. It gives me a hankering for a bread bowl.

I originally got this recipe from allrecipes.com and added the cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg.

Leave a Reply

