Christmas Cookies

This past week, I went south of my little town to hang out with a girlfriend of mine. The initial instinct was to do some crafty beading projects as part of an upcoming endeavor of ours, but when I got there we had some other things to take care of first. Like decorating Christmas cookies.

This holiday season hasn’t been the greatest for me, because it’s the first one that I’m away from home. It’s been very difficult. It was nice to be able to go down there and hang out with someone familiar and get out of the house for a little while though.

My Music City friend had made a very large batch of sugar cookies and used her ginormous box of cookie cutters to make different festive shapes. Then she proceeded to make an even bigger batch of frosting that begged for coloring. Do you realize how hard it is to make brown frosting?? But we got it done, because gingerbread men and teddy bears can’t be anything but. And somehow managed to come up with a sparkly silver frosting in the process.

I think our little visit was good for both of us. Even though she gets to go home with her new hubby, we are both accustomed to being home and making sugar cookies with our families. New traditions in a new place though. If you can’t tell, I’m very thankful to have someone I know near by. I love my hunny, but I can’t stay cooped up in this cute little house all the time.

Looking at these photos… We made a lot of cookies!! Thankfully she was taking them home with her to pass out to some friends and family too.

 

 

Leave a Reply

