Lovely New Kitchen

My fiance and I just moved to a new home in a new state, a place neither of us have been to. It’s been an adventure to say the least! But in the new home is a lovely new kitchen – and when I say new, I mean only one prior tenant got to use it. And it’s amazing. It’s got beautiful cherry cabinets and a fantastic faux granite counter top. It came with a dishwasher, refrigerator, and even a microwave. And an electric stove.

My first thought about the stove was of disgust – every electric stove I’ve had the “pleasure” of working with was a disaster. The stupid coils were never straight and it was usually so ancient that it would take 20 minutes just to heat and forget about cooling it down while you’re cooking with it. But this one… This one is a flat top stove, and it heats up just as quickly as a gas stove does – and it doesn’t sit crooked! I think I can handle that.

So the first dish that I made in my lovely new kitchen with all of my lovely kitchen toys was pasta. The fiance asked for pasta. It was simple, elegant and delicious. I’m pretty sure I’ve made it before and posted it here, but no matter. It’s a go to pasta recipe. The second thing? Breakfast. French toast, based on a new recipe found with a quick Epicurious search. And finally, my new home was fragranced with the smell of chili – perfect for a chilly day.

I plan on making a whole slew of delicious things in my kitchen, I even bought a (on-sale!) immersion blender so I can attempt soup. And then I thought about the amazing Ghiradelli Peppermint Bark that only comes out around Christmas time. Wonder what I can do about trying to make that one?

I think I’m definitely going to enjoy my lovely new kitchen in my lovely new home. Even if it is ridiculously cold outside.

Leave a Reply

