Holy Crepes Batman!

This week’s dinner with the sweet-tooth friend of mine (she needs a nickname…I think we’ll call her “Lady Luck” since she’s such a huge fan of Lady Gaga) had a French theme. So naturally, we had a super scrumptious supper of roasted chicken and sage-infused roasted potatoes and some delectable veggies. And did I mention the crepes?

Dinner was extremely flavorful, and to be honest, we were just too damn hungry and busy devouring it to take pictures of it – but I don’t want to anyone to think it wasn’t description worthy! Due to some car trouble, actually roasting a chicken – or making chicken francese as was the original plan – was a little bit out of the question. But substituting a rotisserie chicken from Fry’s works just as well. They were even nice enough to put an apricot glaze on it! Lady Luck made some awesome potatoes…I was eating them straight from the pan, I have to admit. We’ll call it quality control. They fried up in some sage and thyme infused oil and it gave them such a unique flavor! Definitely not like that other dish we had that wasn’t so good because of the amount of sage in it. My love of all things herb-y has been rekindled!

Once we had…you know, gorged…ourselves on yummy chicken, potatoes and a veggie medley, it was time for dessert. And let me just say that we are talented enough to edit a high school paper (Lady Luck’s daughter) while making crepes! Ridiculously simple to make by the way. I was a little intimidated at first – crepes seem like such a fancy food that it takes a patisserie chef to make one. I was wrong! They’re essentially a really big pancake made from a too-thin batter, and of course, we added Nutella to ours. Oh, and Ghiradelli chocolate chunks! Hence the little brownish black crispy goodness you see in these pictures.

I definitely love what has become a ritual with an amazing friend. Next week? We’re going to Thailand! There may even be a drink involved – non alcoholic that is!

2 thoughts on “Holy Crepes Batman!

  1. WOW – This sounds awesome! And made me seriously hungry 🙂 I am glad you had such an awesome evening.

  2. Yum, I absolutely love crepes, but have never made them at home! Glad to see it turned out so well… maybe I will give them a try 🙂

Leave a Reply

