Spaghetti alle Vongole

I made a resolution this year that I wanted to blog more. But that means I have to cook more – and not just stuff that I make all the time. Well, here’s one that I’ve never made, but every time that we go to our favorite Italian restaurant, this is what I order. The fact that I made my favorite pasta dish from a restaurant and it came out super tasty is super satisfying!

When I was thinking about the taste of this dish, I kept thinking it had cream. I was wrong! The “sauce” for this (it’s not really sauce-y it’s more just flavor) is actually white wine based with a lot of garlic. No wonder I like it so much. But everything I’ve ever heard about cooking with wine says two  things – always cook with a wine that you’ll drink; and make sure when adding wine to a pan that you take it off direct heat first, unless you don’t like your eyebrows.

You can find the recipe for it here. And that glass of wine next to the bowl in the picture? Moscato d’Asti. It’s a sweet dessert wine, and one of my the only types of wine that I can drink without cringing. I’m not the type of person that has to match the wine to the dish. I know what I like and that’s what I’ll drink!

If you travel on over to my bibliography page, you’ll find my reference to Bella Online – where I found the recipe.

Leave a Reply

