Chicken Enchilada Casserole

The perfect end to a hectic week!

So my apartment has been torn apart for almost a month now – but we’re not going to go in to that. Basically, my kitchen is in a shambles, there are a ton of things in boxes, and it makes it hard to cook a really scrumptious meal. But, take one pan, one casserole dish, a spoon and knife…Oh my goodness the possibilities.

This is hearty, makes a lot, tastes DELICIOUS and is somewhat healthy. What’s not to love?

So, I used chicken thighs. I’m sure you could use chicken breasts. But I like dark meat. Wait. I need to back up. Start by chopping up garlic, onions and bell peppers. Add in a small handful of chopped sweet yellow peppers (like the kind they put on your sandwich at Subway), and saute together for a bit. Add in the chicken, that’s been all chopped up pretty. Then goes in a bunch of paprika, some cilantro, garlic powder, a dash of red pepper flakes and a couple tablespoons of hot sauce. (No it’s not spicy it’s delicious!)

So all this gets cooked up together until the chicken is done and it’s all bubbling away in the sauces. Then goes in some salsa, a can of chopped tomatoes, a can of corn and of course cheddar cheese. Proceed to bubble.

Get a big casserole dish, and put some tortilla chips in the bottom. Smush them all up so they are semi flat. Then pour the hot, bubbly, yummy goodness over top and level it out. Pour more cheese over top, cover with tin foil, and bake 30 minutes in a 400 degree oven. Let rest 5 minutes and enjoy!!

If I had sour cream in the house, I’d probably put some on top. But I didn’t.

Please do try this and please tell me how it is!

Leave a Reply

