Taste of Summer

I went on a little shopping excursion yesterday, because the roomie and realized that while we had stuff in the fridge, freezer and pantry…we didn’t really have any food. There was a lot of stuff that was some good ingredients, but no complete meals to make. And it was either pork or chicken in our freezer…I needed a break from that.

Well, when I went to the store, I found some bratwurst on sale. Normally reserved for summertime parties, they sounded really good. The last time that I had watched them being prepared was at a friend’s house. He boiled them in beer first (hence the name beer brats?). Given as I’ve never been the one to prepare them…that sounded like a good plan.

Let me just say, beer at room temperature or hotter for long periods of time gathers some pressure. Those lids made a very loud pop when I twisted them off.

Anyway, so I boiled the brats for about 5 minutes in a mixture of 24 ounces of beer, approximately 4 ounces of chicken broth and 12 ounces of water. Just enough to balance out the flavors. I then threw them on a griddle, flipping a couple of times. By time it was all said and done, they were probably grilling for about 15 to 20 minutes, until they weren’t pink in the middle anymore.

Serve with some cheesy seasoned fries and top with mustard…voila! The taste of summer.

Leave a Reply

