Pecan-Crusted Cajun Chicken

So I posted on Facebook that I wanted to cook but didn’t know what to cook. This idea came from a very good friend of mine in response.
I basically used small chicken breasts, coated them in an egg wash, then a seasoned flour mixture, and then in to chopped up pecans. I took a shake and bake technique by putting the pecans in a bag. The seasoning that I used for the flour is a mix of salt and pepper, cayenne, basil, oregano, paprika and just a bit of garlic powder.
On the side, I made a garlic oil with some crushed garlic cloves and then sauteed asparagus in that oil. It didn’t change the flavor drastically like I expected, but it did give it just enough of a different taste to make it uber tasty.
For dessert, I made mini-muffin sized brownies. The recipe called for using Hershey’s cocoa powder, but I didn’t have any of that, so I used hot cocoa mix instead. I think it made them taste really good, but it also affected their cook time. It took almost triple the cook time! And of course, because we all know that I can’t just keep a recipe as-is, I added white chocolate chips as well. When I served it up, I made it a la mode, and I put some sliced strawberries on top.

pecan chicken

The pecan chicken and aspargus. I thought adding some more of the flour mixture would make it crunchier, but it didn't do anything.

Leave a Reply

