Balsamic Pork Chops

I gave the boyfriend the equivalent of a Food Network Challenge, and told him he had pork chops, balsamic vinegar, tomatoes and seedless green grapes. The idea was that I wanted to make pork chops, but I didn’t want to do it the same way that I always do. His solution was to make a grape balsamic marinade for the porkchops.

pork chop

My balsamic pork chops with alfredo pasta and green beans. Thanks boyfriend!

He’s very good at adding a “sneaky spice” as he likes to call it, and he suggested adding cayenne pepper and oregano to the glaze. Overall, the glaze had a slightly spicy, smoky, and very gently sweet flavor to it. It was really very good. So I added it into the bag that my pork chops were in and threw it in the fridge overnight. Tonight, I put those in a pan on medium high heat with the marinade, and some red onions and garlic (about half a clove minced). I let those cook about 2.5 minutes on each side then put them in the oven at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes with a splash of balsamic and some diced tomatoes.

Final result? The marinade wasn’t strong enough to come through well in the flavor of the meat. But it did change the flavor from just that of basic pork chops. I think in future endeavors I would make the marinade stronger than I think it should be so that the flavor comes through well in the meat. I also made a sort of pico de gallo with tomatoes, red onions, cilantro and garlic to go on top. On the side, I used up some alfredo sauce on some pasta and made green beans for my veggie.

Leave a Reply

