Stir-Fry Experiment

Stir Fry

It looks all pretty and turned out really tasty.

So this was last week, but I just haven’t had time to post it. I decided that I wanted a stir-fry. The catch is that I’ve never made stir-fry. So it’s time for some experimentation. Everything I used was fresh, which made a good start. I used chicken breast that I cubed up and sauted with some teriyaki sauce (not a lot though). I set that to the side and then started adding in vegetables, which were mainly cut into ribbons (for presentation’s sake – and thanks to my boyfriend). So in goes the onion, zucchini, yellow squash, green and yellow bell pepper and mushrooms, in that order, since things cook slower. I poured half of my previously made sauce over it so that it had something to cook in, as well as a little bit of olive oil. Sauted it all together, and at the last minute, threw in the baby corn to warm it up a bit, as well as the chicken to heat it back up. Toward the end of the cooking process, I made some ten-minute rice to put the stuff on top of as well. And topped it all with the remaining sauce and water chestnuts (I needed the crunchy texture).

As for the sauce, that was a total experiment, more so than the meal itself. The goal was a spicy sweet sauce. After some tweaking it was pretty much perfect. I used teriyaki sauce and oil as the base and then I added: minced garlic, mango preserves, zest/juice of one lime, zest of an orange, red pepper flakes, pinch of cayenne pepper, cumin, and thyme. Mixed it all together and added half to the cooking process and the other half over the top of the finished product. I also added some apple cider vinegar to the mix, but that didn’t taste right, so I don’t think I would do that again. I ended up adding in more teriyaki to overpower the taste of the vinegar.

Leave a Reply

