Full Comfort Meal

smothered chops

Smothered pork chops, salad and the ultimate garlic bread.

Pork chops were one of the last types of meat in the freezer. So I had to do something I haven’t done before. I looked up pork chops and improvised off another recipe I found. So simple, only one pan, a cutting board and knife were dirtied in the making of this dinner.

This would have probably been better with boneless chops, but these were really good regardless. I admit it, I was gnawing on the bone. I paired those with a tasty, veggie-filled salad, with avocado and croutons and sun-dried tomatoes. A little bit of Italian dressing and voila! Scrumptious at its best. And then there’s the garlic bread.

Thanks to Guy Fieri and the Food Network, I have found the best garlic bread recipe ever. It was so good and so bad at the same time. The bad part being how many calories have to be in it. But it was melt-in-your-mouth good. I have to admit that we (the roomie and I) were slightly skeptical about the mayo that gets mixed with the butter to go on the bread. But I have definitely not lost my faith in Guy. He was right, the mayo cannot be gone without, it makes the butter combination creamy and gives it just a little bit of a kick.

This was probably the most tantalizing and filling meal that I’ve had in weeks, given how little time I’ve had to cook lately. I definitely don’t mind the time I put into it (about an hour and a half), because it was just what my body was craving.

Leave a Reply

